Tastebuds

A food blog from everywhere!

Failed Bread and Awesome Pumpkin Soup

Failed Bread and Awesome Pumpkin Soup
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This morning I baked some failed bread. Yep, it was pretty fail, again. Basically, it tasted like sawdust. Ok, maybe not as bad as sawdust, but it just totally lacked flavour. And the crumb wasn’t very good either; it was too firm. And the crust was too hard…I think I made have left it in the oven too long at too high a temperature. AHH.

Usually when I make breads I just follow my own whims and throw recipes to the winds; perhaps that’s the reason that most of the breads that I have baked usually turn out pretty bland and tasteless. With this latest addition to my bread-baking repertoire I tried to reverse that trend by leaving the dough to rise overnight so that it may take on more complex flavours, but alas, either my yeast was dead or my ingredients hate me. Sigh. Next time I should try using an actual preferment.

But on another, happier note, tonight I made the most wonderful soup that I’ve ever made! Pumpkin soup!!! And I followed my own improvised recipe as well, so I must say that I’m pretty proud of myself right now. The flavours of the pumpkin and curry spice stood out really well. It was nice and creamy even though I didn’t use dairy at all. A nice, healthy alternative to traditional cream-based pumpkin soups.

Anyways, here is my recipe for Curried Pumpkin Soup:

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • half an onion, sliced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1.5 tbsp miso paste (just dumped it in cause I had it on hand; not sure whether it affects the final flavour much)
  • 1 small pumpkin, seeded and chopped into chunky cubes
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • sprigs of watercress (optional)

Method:

  1. Heat olive oil in a saucepan. Add onions and garlic and saute for 2 minutes.
  2. Add curry powder and stir for another minute.
  3. Add chopped pumpkin and miso paste into the saucepan. Stir to coat and quickly add in the chicken broth and water.
  4. Bring everything to a slow boil and allow to simmer for about 30 minutes, or until pumpkin is soft.
  5. Once cooked, remove saucepan from heat. Separate the pumpkin chunks from the liquid and puree the former in a food processor. Note: I left some of the pumpkin chunks unpureed because a)I was lazy, and b)it adds a nice texture difference to the soup.
  6. Mix the pureed pumpking back into the broth and reheat if desired. Add water to adjust the consistency of the soup if necessary.
  7. Spoon soup into shallow bowls and serve with a few sprigs of watercress if desired.

And tada! Curried pumpkin soup! Yum yum yum =P

November 24, 2009 - Posted by | Recipes

1 Comment »

  1. Bread is bread~ and it tastes good in any way, shape or form. Which is perfectly fine. I would have liked to try your bread (:

    A mixture of pumpkin and miso? To be honest, I’m not that fond of pumpkin but… whoa, I love miso. So maybe a combination is just what I need =D

    Will try out your recipe if I ever get the guts to try cooking. xD

    Sorry for spamming your blog ahaha~ I’ll be back soon! ^^

    Comment by Kyfni | November 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

